20 BBQ Cooking Tips from John McLemore & DADGUM That’s Good! Cookbook Giveaway

Last month, in honor of National Barbecue month,
I had the privilege to kick-start my summer BBQ season
with the recently released cookbook,
“DADGUM, That’s Good! Kickbutt Recipes for Smoking, Grilling, Frying, Boiling and Steaming” by John McLemore


John McLemore, a southerner through-and-through, was born an entrepreneur and accidentally became a cook. John and Don, brothers and owners of Masterbuilt, a company that makes cooking products, stumbled upon a secret. The brothers often tested their cooking products by making family recipes. During this testing they realized they had created a simple method of cooking what most people consider very difficult recipes. John decided that this method and his family recipes needed to be shared with the world and published “DADGUM, That’s Good!”.


“DADGUM, That’s Good!” {available at these participating retailers} features 200 pages pack full with 129 mouth-watering recipes, including 16 of John’s McLemore’s signature recipes. The book is divided into five separate sections containing recipes for smoking, grilling, frying, boiling, and steaming your favorite foods.


Since there is ‘an affiliation‘ with Masterbuilt products, they are mentioned throughout the book; however all of the recipes can simply be made using your own fryer, grill or smoker.


What caught my eye from the start with this cookbook is the fantastic photos that accompany each and every recipe. {this is a pretty big deal for me as I am a picture girl…I rarely try a recipe without a photo}

The recipes are very well written and broken own into easy to follow steps. I also really like that the ingredients are listed in a highlighted box and easily found on each page – this makes it very simple to refer back to them as you are cooking along. You’ll also find ‘John says’ tidbits accompanying most of the recipes which give a little background about the main ingredients along with some personal recommendations. The only thing I did not see {which is sometimes important to others} is nutritional information for the recipes {though I, myself, probably would rather not even know for the yummy recipes in the fried section}

I find it very helpful that the book also includes tips for choosing the right type of meat, fish and poultry along with pointers on how to get the most out of your ingredients. I’m always looking for new ways to make preparing and cooking some of of our favorite foods easy and fool proof!

As a special treat ~ I have twenty BBQ Cooking Tips Mr. McLemore has given from his book, to ease your summer grilling duties!


1. Coat grill rack with non-stick spray or vegetable oil before preheating to prevent food from sticking.

2. When grilling fish, grill with the skin side down or on aluminum foil (coat with non-stick spray).

3. Red snapper is quick and easy to grill. But, make sure the grill and fish are well oiled, and handle carefully.

4. Salmon is a favorite for grilling, because it doesn’t dry out. Rich in natural omega oils, you can pop it on the grill without oiling. Start by grilling the salmon skin side up. This allows the natural fat under the skin to be drawn into the filet, keeping it rich and moist.

5. If you’re grilling scallops, use fresh ocean scallops. These should be a pinkish tan or ivory color, not unnaturally white.

6. Freshwater trout is great on the grill. The skin becomes thin and crispy and the meat is full of flavor.

7. To keep tuna burgers moist, choose the freshest tuna steaks you can find and serve them medium-rare to medium – don’t overcook.

8. When grilling BBQ ribs, pork butt, or tenderloin, cook unwrapped for 50 to 75% of the cooking time to infuse smoke and flavor. The remaining time wrap with heavy aluminum foil to retain moisture and tenderness

9. When grilling burgers and steaks, allow grill to get to a high temperature before placing food on grill. Let steaks or burgers grill several minutes prior to turning, which will sear in the juices.

10. When choosing an inexpensive steak, opt for flank steak rather than skirt steak, which can be tougher. Flank steak is thin and cooks quickly. They’re usually marinated before being grilled. Wrap the steak in foil as it comes off the grill and let it stand for 10 minutes. Slice it thinly on a diagonal across the grain to sever the tough fibers and make the flavorful steak more tender.

11. When is cheaper better? Chicken thighs may be one of the cheaper cuts, but they do great on the grill! Thighs are more flavorful and the extra fat in the skin makes them better suited to grilling.

12. For the juiciest chicken and chops, you want to sear them on both sides on high heat for several minutes and then bring the grill temperature down to complete the cooking process.

13. Grilling vegetables in aluminum foil, with oil, prevents them from falling through the grill gates.

14. Just a few minutes on the grill gives bell peppers a sweet smoky flavor. Don’t over roast them: As soon as the skin puffs up and turns black, they’re ready.

15. Cut zucchini in half lengthwise, coat with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper; grill for 15 minutes.

16. You can leave the husk on the corn while grilling. Once you see the shape of the kernels burning through the husk, your corn is ready. (If you grill with indirect heat, you’ll need to grill the corn for about an hour, so put your corn on the grill first.)

17. Grilled Caesar Salad – ? Sure – the Romaine lettuce ends will char, but it stays remarkably crisp and sweet, with a char-grilled flavor.

18. Always allow grill to cool prior to cleaning, but I recommend cleaning after each use.

19. To extend the life of your grill (and smoker), store in a dry place or keep covered after each use.

20. Do not grill alone; spend the time with family and friends. (It’s more DADGUM fun!)


You can learn more about Masterbuilt products {here} and read about all things “Dadgum Good!” {here}

There is even a “Dadgum That’s Good!” Recipe Contest going on now too!
Do you have a tried and true smoked, boiled, steamed, grilled or fried recipe? Why not enter!
Official rules can be found on the Masterbuilt Facebook Page {here}


For Today’s Giveaway
Publisher Concept Inc.
is giving one lucky reader a chance to win
Their Very Own Copy of John McLemore’s
“DADGUM, That’s Good! Kickbutt Recipes for Smoking, Grilling, Frying, Boiling and Steaming”

To Enter This Giveaway:
{1} Simply Leave a Comment {one entry}

For Additional Chances to Win:

{2} Leave a Separate Comment telling us your favorite food to Grill, Fry, Smoke, Boil or Steam
{leave a separate comment – one entry}

{3} Follow Masterbuilt on Facebook {here}
{leave a separate comment – one entry}

{4} Follow UTT&D on Facebook {here}
{leave a separate comment – one entry}

A random generated winner will be chosen Wednesday, June 15th
{Giveaway entry valid for readers of Under the Table and Dreaming only}

Happy Barbecuing ~ Enjoy!

                  

Comments

  1. Wow,my husband woud adore this book..Thanks for the great giveway..xx

  2. Those are fantastic tips! This book looks fabulous :)

  3. mna! I can feel the weight coming on just looking at it~lol~ but grilled is healthy, right? this looks like a cookbok that would be used over & over again
    Helen

  4. YUMMY – he was on QVC a while back, and everything looked so yummy!!!!! would LOVE a copy of that cookbook!!! thanks for the giveaway! ms_sunshyneyahoocom

  5. My goodness, I’d love to win this giveaway!

  6. My favorite good to grill is either chicken breast or asparagus.

  7. Boy…this cookbook looks like it’s Dadgum Good! This is something my son would really LOVE. He’s well on his way to becoming a master on the grill.
    I LOVE fish on the grill…with lots of grilled veggies! Or maybe…Chicken…no, country style ribs…no, make that…Well, you get the idea…I LOVE GRILLED FOOD!
    Jane (artfully graced)

  8. Favorite food on the grill…right now I can almost taste grilled chicken which has been marinated in my homemade salsa, then topped with the same salsa.
    Jane (Artfully Graced)

  9. I am a FB follower!
    Jane (artfully graced)

  10. Perfect timeing for a give away with Father’s Day around the corner. I’d love to be entered!

  11. My favorite food item on the grill is a tuna steak. When we were dating, my husband asked me if I liked my tuan steak cooked a little rare. I told him I didn’t like it rare, but didn’t like it all grey and dried out either. He asked, “how about if I cook it just perfectly?” And he did. And he has every single time since! I still laugh about it.

  12. My favorite food to grill is chicken. Yum.

  13. Perfect Father’s day gift.

  14. I liked you on facbook.

  15. I like masterbuilt on facebook.

  16. I need help with my grilling – this would be awesome.

  17. My mom makes the yummiest turkey steaks on the grill. Those would definitely be a favorite. Even the pickiest of eaters love them.

  18. Great timing, I am ready for barbecue.

  19. These are great tips. The book looks fantastic and I would LOVE my honey to have a copy of it! Yum! Thanks.

  20. Oh my goodness…I must have this book! Especially with those deep fried OREOS…HELLO!

  21. Oh wow that looks great! Thanks for the giveaway. This would be a great Father’s Day gift!

  22. Hmmm. Might sound a little “off” but I LOVE boiling maple sap into syrup. Sure it’s a whole process that can be easily screwed up (if you’re me!) but I just love that smell of boiling sap. It’s now become a nice n’ familiar, homey one to me :)

  23. I liked UTT&D on FB!

  24. I liked Masterbuilt on FB!

  25. Looks like a great cookbook!!!

  26. My favorite food to grill is a hotdog!! Quick, easy, and nothing better than a hot dog over the summer!

  27. I follow Masterbuilt on Facebook!

  28. I follow UTT&D On Facebook :)

  29. That corn looks so good. I love grilling season because it means less work for me in the kitchen:)

  30. Burgers and hot dogs are our favorite things to grill! Quick adn easy!

  31. yum yum… comfort food. . . gotta love it! I’m gonna try this for Fathers Day! Thanks!

  32. The book looks fun! The fried oreos look divine!

  33. Our favorite thing to fry is breaded ravioli. Visit my blog for the recipe:)

  34. I follow UTTAD on FB

  35. wow….this looks amazing! Thanks..

  36. I love, love, love to cook/fry/broil/grill/barbeque chicken.

        

Speak Your Mind

*